8 comments on “Movie Review: Hellboy II: The Golden Army

  1. Yes indeed there is, it’s pretty nifty too from what I hear! And yes indeed Selma Blair is pretty neat!

  2. I’ve read like two Hellboy comics that just happened to be sitting around once and can say I was honestly surprised how good it was. I’ve been wanting to read more but it’s been kind of a hard series for me to find in volumes, which is about the only way I ever read comics anymore.

    I’ve not seen either of the Hellboy movies. The first one, from my friends and reviewers, seemed to get a lot of mixed reviews so I held off on it. This new one though, everyone seems to be talking it up as very very good. So I ask, did they kick up a lot for the sequel or is this another case of the sequel getting the attention the first one deserved?

    By the way, your comment on my blog was caught in my spam queue for whatever reason, along with Annette’s. It’s been restored.

  3. You know the first one was surprisingly good, Ron Perlman gives the character a lot of personality and established it pretty well. In this one they went for more of the fantasy element vs. Nazis in the first. There were definitley some fantasy elements in the first but Guillermo Del Toro did an amazing job of making it work for the movie.

    And glad my comment turned up, I was wondering what happened to it!

  4. Nice to see you’re getting some more reviews up here. I’ve been kind of away from the net in general for the past 6 weeks, but I’ve spent the last couple of hours getting caught up with some blogs and spent the last little while reading the last 6 weeks worth of yours. Great stuff, man. I hate that I missed out on the Jaws post with the Mr. Jaws song on it. I remember listening to that 45 when I was a kid. I’m so glad you found it. It’s still just as funny today. Keep it up and I’ll be hanging out here a little more regularly.

    As for Hellboy 2, I thought it looked great, but I think I enjoyed the first one a lot more. I just like a good origin story. It will be interesting to see what’s in store for the 3rd one though, especially the new “development” that we found out about in the last few minutes of part 2.

Leave a Reply

