15 comments on “For a good time call….

  1. God, I love 80’s music! The fashion was horrible, but the music rocked! I still listens to 80’s music all the time! Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

    Gotta go now…some kids outside are kung fu fighting. Those kids are fast as lightning! 🙂

  2. Your more than welcome DC, I’m glad you enjoyed it!
    And the kung fu fighting reference made me squirt water out my nose!

  3. Hey I actually like 80’s style!
    Bring back Chip And Pepper!!
    My grandparents went to the Bahama’s in the late 80’s and came back with a UB-40 tape and constantly played Red Red Wine,
    I think thats when I stopped liking that song..

  4. I think I need to dig out my “Frankie say Relax” t-shirt now!

    I found it cool when I found out that Michael Jackson sang on Rockwell’s song because I remember we always used to say how that sounded like Michael Jackson and sure enough it was.

  5. Crap! I totally meant to put Frankie in there and spaced it! Wonder if anyone would notice a Ninja edit…..hmm. Nah, I’ll save it for later.

  6. Of course, after his emergence, Weird Al went on to claim definitive ownership of the “stalker song” genre with efforts like “Melanie” (“I may be dead but I still love you”) and “Do I Creep You Out” (“gonna carve your name in my leeeeeg….”). Really pretty impressive that a guy who’s (shhh!) quite normal offstage can come up with this stuff.

  7. That’s why I love Weird Al though, his creativity is amazing, not only in his parodies but his original stuff. I can’t tell you how many copies of “Dare to be Stupid” I’ve gone thru over the years.

  8. Thanks Bill! I try to keep it entertaining.
    And Kristiane I’m glad you liked it too!
    It was hard to narrow it down to just the songs I used,there are so many great songs to choose from!

  9. Wow, great one Dan! I really dug it. I’m so hopelessly stuck in 1985 and going nowhere fast, so I’m always up for any kind of nostalgia, especially when it comes to music. I actually didn’t know that One Night in Bangkok had anything to do with chess until recently when there was a TV program about it and they showed the video. I had never seen the video but it all makes sense now. Also, this is kind of off the subject, but a co-worker brought up to me the other day that “Gouge Away” by The Pixies is all about Samson and Delilah. I never noticed either, but if you pay close attention to the lyrics, it’s so obvious.

  10. For the longest time I didn’t know “One Night..” was about chess either till a friend pointed it out to me. Watching the video does kind of put it all into perspective though. I’ll have to track down that Pixies song and give it a listen, I guess I missed that one too!

  11. Pingback: On with the show! (Part one) « Dan’s Corner of the Internet

Leave a Reply

