8 comments on “6 Things about me

  1. Wow, I had no idea you beat the Bit C. Good on ya! One of my best friends is dealing with it now–breast cancer. She’s hanging in there and doing the chemo thing but it doesn’t look that great. The doctors gave her 2 years, but that was over 2 years ago and she’s still hanging in there. She thinks she’s got at least another 2 years, so we’re all hoping for the best.

    On a lighter note, I’ve worked quite a bit as a production assistant in movies and I’m in the credits of a few myself. My name isn’t in the credits for The Notebook, but the office I worked for at the time is. I interned at the SC Film Office and helped to secure some of the props that were used in the movies. I had to work with this guy who specialized in vintage construction and building equipment to get all the old saws and construction stuff that’s used in the movie. I was kind of the go-between for that guy and the art department.

    Great taste in books you got there. Clive Barker is my favorite author in the whole wide world. Heck, my blog is named after what I think is his best novel ever and my personal favorite novel of all time. And yeah, I agree, Good Omens is a definite recommend to anyone who hasn’t read it yet.

    I think I’ll do the “6 Things About Me” deal in a couple of days. I gotta think on it first.

  2. No worries, I didn’t even notice until you pointed it out!

    I’ll keep your friend in my thoughts, I know how rough the treatment can be. The biggest thing is don’t gove up, as long as you’ve got the will to fight you can do anything.

    Can’t wait to read your 6 Things, it’s a lot tougher than it sounds. I really had to think about what to put into this one.

  3. On the Big C, you have my heartfelt admiration on this. I lost my granddad at 11 and my Dad at 14 to it, both within my birth month…the irony not lost on what my actual star sign is…and my Mum had a recent related health scare too, so I completely feel for anyone who goes through it or knows people going through it. I also second towards DJ D’s friend, and hope for continual positive mojo.

    On the books, Good Omens is my ‘at least once a year’ read, because I always find a bit that I forgot or that seems like I’ve never read before. Pratchett is such a great writer, the Discworld series is just a compulsive read at times.

    I miss The Mole, Combat Missions and Murder Game (UK version of Murder in Small Town X).

  4. Fuck yeah, Good Omens! I met Gaiman twice, and lemme tell you, he is really, really awesome (I got Coreline and his bio on Douglas Adams signed, both books I heartifly recommend). He also read something from M is for Magic at a signing awhile back, and I was just enthralled.

    I’m a Dean Koontz fan, but not so much of his earliest work, nor his latest stuff. The Christopher Snow books were great.

    I send a warm hug to you and your family. My grandmother was diagnosed w/ breast, then lung, cancer several years ago, and recently a great aunt and 2 other family members were hit with it (within the last year or so). Yes, I get checked. I can imagine chemo being straining, but really its the strength of will that gets people through it. It can be beat, you just can’t let it beat you.

  5. I agree with you Dio, Koontz is good but some of his newer stuff is kind of meh.

    And thanks for the hug and well wishes. I’m glad you take it upon yourself to get checked, surgery is no fun and yeah chemo just sucks. Your right though, as long as you have the will to fight you can do anything.

  6. Yeah, I was a big Dean Koontz reader when I was in middle school and to some extent high school, and I agree his older stuff was much better. Phantasms and Whispers were just solid books all around, but I’ve read some more recent stuff that I didn’t care for at all. I would like to check out his Frankenstein books though. Those look pretty good, and have just been adapted into comic book form. I think the first issue’s coming out this summer.

    Oh, and Dan, is that Omega Supreme on your avatar? If so, good job! I’ve still got my original Omega Supreme, in near perfect condition in the original box. I’ve seen them selling on E-Bay for around $300 before, and that’s in not-perfect condition without all the parts, and no box, so I’d bet I could get a pretty penny for it if I ever wanted to part with it. I don’t see that happening though.

  7. Didn’t they actually make a movie out of one of the Frankenstein books recently? I thought I saw it advertised but didn’t actually tune in to watch it.

    And yes it is indeed Omega Supreme as my avatar. I still have the one I wrote about, he’s a little dinged up but still works. I have to admit I’m jealous of the fact that you have one in the box. I don’t see myself selling mine either though, he means too much to me.

Leave a Reply

